Shaving length

Specific talk about pumps: Questions, hints, recommendations, etc.
Quincy

Shaving length

Postby Quincy » Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:28 pm

Hello all. First post other than my "hello" post.

I'm new to all of this. Just got a low-end pump for the first time today. I've never used a ring, a pump, an injection, etc., etc. I've been reading all the forums avidly. Ed from diabetes and raditation therapy for prostate cancer. Will try the pump for the first time tonight. Went into a sex shop for the first time today. Nice place, all women working. I was embarassed to talk with anyone except my docs and my wife about pumps and rings and such, but made it through. Now my question:

I've read the treatment section and several posts about the need to shave - suction for pump and to keep from screaming when removing rings. Another poster I saw said he wished he hadn't done it as his wife doesn't like the prickly feelings of the stubble. I'm not really interested in being smooth, but I don't want removing the rings to hurt and I want the pump to work. How short should the hair be? I'm going to invest in a personal groomer and wondering if anyone has experience with different lengths of hair.

Thanks for all your posts everywhere and this great resource.

BTW, is this the right place to post a shaving question since I'm doing it for pumping?
71, Boise area, Married
ED from type 2 diabetes and PCa radiation.
AMS LGX surgery 6/5/18 with Edward Karpman in Silicon Valley, 18cm+3RTE

Titan_Man

Re: Shaving length

Postby Titan_Man » Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:27 pm

I normally keep mine smooth but shave after it gets to about 1/8 inch. I have not really had too much trouble with that length. Also, 1/8 is a standard length for most grooming kits.

Personally, going smooth is a lot better for the wife during oral, it really depends on what ur looking for and commitment on maintenance of your grooming. Good luck.
David, 33, from Central MA
Erectile Dysfunction all of my life