Returning to work after implant surgery?

The final frontier. Deciding when, if and how.
brian22

Returning to work after implant surgery?

Postby brian22 » Thu May 26, 2011 10:17 am

Had my implant surgery last Friday. All went well except swelling, which seems to have peaked a couple of nights ago. Still swollen, so hurts to stand. Most other positions ok. Just wondering if any of you can tell me the criteria for returning to work. I'm a teacher (middle school), so a mix of standing and sitting. I'd like to return next Monday, which will be day 10 since surgery. Also, if one 'returns to work too early,' is the danger just pain or can one do any damage?

Thanks,
Brian.

smotrinamenya

Re: Returning to work after implant surgery?

Postby smotrinamenya » Thu May 26, 2011 8:02 pm

I'm not sure there are any specific criteria - I would think you could return to normal activity as soon as you feel up to it. I returned to work half time (I'm a software developer, so I mostly sit while working) on day 10 following surgery, and full time a few days after that. I resumed my normal daily exercise routine about 2 weeks following. However, everybody heals differently. I've read of guys who claim to have gone bike riding the day after surgery (I take that one with a grain of salt, though - but if it's on the Internet it must be true, right??). Proceed slowly and you should be fine.

Dave48003

Postby Dave48003 » Sat May 28, 2011 9:52 pm

Brian:

First of all, welcome to FT and the Brotherhood of Bionic Boners!!