Does V.A. pay for vacuum pumps or do they provide them directly

Specific talk about pumps: Questions, hints, recommendations, etc.
Lost Sheep

Does V.A. pay for vacuum pumps or do they provide them directly

Postby Lost Sheep » Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:41 pm

My doctor and I are planning to take me through a pre-operational (inflatable penile implant) protocol of vacuum therapy to condition my penile tissues. Toward that end, he prescribed a vacuum erection device. His office send a prescription to a pharmacy that supplies those.

Being a veteran, I know enough to follow up. When I did, the pharmacy told me the VA does not usually pay for those. I called my VA pharmacy and they said that it sounds like a prosthetic device. I didn't get to talk to anybody in Prosthetics.

Does anyone know anything that can help me shepherd this prescription through to wherever it is supposed to go?

Thanks in advance

Lost Sheep

Edit:
My VA Doctor and local VA Office authorized treatment by a civilian Urologist. I live in Alaska, so non-VA providers are not uncommon.
Last edited by Lost Sheep on Sun Oct 23, 2016 11:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lost Sheep
AMS LGX 18+3 Nov 6, 2017
Prostate Cancer 2023
READ OLD THREADS-ask better questions -better understand answers
Be part of your medical team
Document pre-op size-photos and written records
Pre-op VED therapy helps. Post-op is another matter

BigJoe8

Re: Does V.A. pay for vacuum pumps or do they provide them directly

Postby BigJoe8 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:00 pm

Lost Sheep,
I have a question. Why should the VA provide you with a VED? Is your ED caused by a service connected condition?

Just asking, not sure how all of that works.

Joe
Just because you can no longer cut the mustard, Doesn't mean you can't LICK the Jar!

Lost Sheep

Postby Lost Sheep » Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:39 pm

BigJoe8 wrote:Lost Sheep,
I have a question. Why should the VA provide you with a VED? Is your ED caused by a service connected condition?